Science Unit 1: Organization of Living Things

 

Organization of Living Thing: Cells

Introduction video to cells- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gFuEo2ccTPA

The Cell Song- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rABKB5aS2Zg

Parts of Cell Rap - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-zafJKbMPA8

Cells From Other Cells - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BTicXXxzQA4&feature=youtu.be

Cell Size & Scale- http://learn.genetics.utah.edu/content/cells/scale/

Cell Inspector - http://www.harcourtschool.com/activity/cell/cell.html

Inside a Cell - http://learn.genetics.utah.edu/content/cells/insideacell/

Brain Pop – Cell Structure Video- http://glencoe.mheducation.com/sites/dl/free/0078778425/164155/00035804.html

Cell Analogies (The Hunger Games)- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xo9L2FB7aDo

Cell Organelle Analogy (watch first 3 mins) - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5L9-HU-2j0A

School Project: Cell City- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OkUkw--PUKQ

Cell Analogy Project - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gT-yNKL5_E0

Cell Analogy: Amusement Park - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B4gl2A5Jyyc

How your cell phone is like a plant cell- http://www.slideshare.net/e050265/cell-analogy

Photosynthesis- http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/nature/photosynthesis.html

Cell Explorer - http://www.exploratorium.edu/traits/cell_explorer.html

Brain Pop: Photosynthesis & Respiration- http://glencoe.mheducation.com/sites/dl/free/0078778425/164155/00053412.html

Cellular Respiration- http://www.sumanasinc.com/webcontent/animations/content/cellularrespiration.html

How Molecules Move Across the Cell Membrane- http://www.sumanasinc.com/webcontent/animations/content/diffusion.html

Diffusion Simulation- http://esminfo.prenhall.com/science/BiologyArchive/lectureanimations/closerlook/diffusion.html

How Diffusion Works- http://highered.mheducation.com/sites/0072495855/student_view0/chapter2/animation__how_diffusion_works.html

Diffusion & Osmosis Activity- http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/gcsebitesize/science/add_aqa_pre_2011/cells/osmosisact.shtml

Osmosis- http://www.stolaf.edu/people/giannini/flashanimat/transport/osmosis.swf

Diffusion, Osmosis & Active Transport- http://www.abpischools.org.uk/page/modules/homeostasis_kidneys/kidneys3.cfm?coSiteNavigation_allTopic=1

Mitosis- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gwcwSZIfKlM

Meiosis (watch first 3 minutes)- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=toWK0fIyFlY

How Cells Divide- http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/body/how-cells-divide.html

Cell Cycle Game- http://www.nobelprize.org/educational/medicine/2001/cellcycle.html

http://www.cellsalive.com/swf/cell_model.swf

http://www.sheppardsoftware.com/health/anatomy/cell/cell_tutorial_links.swf

http://www.wiley.com/college/boyer/0470003790/animations/cell_structure/cell_structure.swf

http://www.classzone.com/books/ml_science_share/vis_sim/chm05_pg7_cell/chm05_pg7_cell.swf


Body Systems

Study Jams: Nervous System- http://studyjams.scholastic.com/studyjams/jams/science/human-body/nervous-system.htm

Muscles Video - http://kidshealth.org/en/kids/msmovie.html

Study Jams: Circulatory System- http://studyjams.scholastic.com/studyjams/jams/science/human-body/circulatory-system.htm

Oxygen Transport from Lungs to Cells- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5LjLFrmKTSA

Human Circulatory System- http://www.sciencekids.co.nz/videos/humanbody/circulatorysystem.html

Respiratory System- http://www.sciencekids.co.nz/videos/humanbody/respiratorysystem.html

Digestive System- http://science.nationalgeographic.com/science/health-and-human-body/human-body/digestive-system-article/

Immune System - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GIJK3dwCWCw

The Immune System Explained- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zQGOcOUBi6s

Endocrine System- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tN78hYn3ehc

Human Body System Rap- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0yjLJfz6saU

http://www.cashmancuneo.net//flash/carvas.swf

http://kitses.com/animation/swfs/digestion.swf

http://www.childrensuniversity.manchester.ac.uk/media/services/thechildrensuniversityofmanchester/flash/digestive.swf

http://www.iknowthat.com/ScienceIllustrations/humanbody/science_desk.swf

http://www.time4learning.com/demos/skeletal_system/nobones.swf